lookicigar.blogg.se

Photoflow gimp
Photoflow gimp





photoflow gimp

PHOTOFLOW GIMP CODE

Well this is still work in progress and I wish I could make time to bring more cool code into GIMP, but it still allowed the action search (equivalent to the space-menu of Blender), which I think is one of the coolest feature of GIMP 2.9/2.10 and making menus so old school. I am also trying to step up more and more for code review and maintenance of small pieces of the software, since Mitch really needs the help (apparently the whip is not enough help! Go figure!). Well I code a lot of other stuff, smaller features (like the email plugin in GIMP 2.9.4, using xdg-email, implemented a few weeks ago) and bug fixes since I like GIMP hard-rock solid and as stable as possible but that’s obviously less visible. Other than this, both Aryeom and I are trying to build a more diverse community by engaging FLOSS and GIMP enthusiasts in Japan, South Korea (some tutorial videos in Korean even) or other countries in their native languages. Of course, I did several other fixes related to languages since I contribute to GIMP like each language translated in itself in the list of language in the preference, or bugs with GUI with right-to-left languages, like Arabic (did I say I was a language geek? I love all these differences and particularities). Writing Korean (left) or Japanese (right) in GIMP 2.9.4’s text tool. So I have fixed some bugs and even crashes related to Input Methods and made the text tool finally compliant with input method engines (it used to have an ugly overlay box, not integrated at all in the input box, and without any standard formating). I also helped on the integration of the MyPaint brushes, and in particular contributed upstream on a whole build system rework which, as a side effect improved the codebases of libmypaint and MyPaint (quote from Mypaint’s blog post):ĭevelopment of MyPaint will continue of course in fact making this split happen has improved a lot of things in the codebases of both projects ☺ Big thanks to for making this all work so well! InternationalizationĪlso the fact that Aryeom is Korean, that we both lived in several countries in Europe, Asia and Oceania, that we speak English, French, Japanese, Korean (well my Korean is lacking!), and that I love languages and am a grammar geek made us good targets to notice anything wrong with GIMP’s support of non Western languages. Here are some symmetrical doodles drawn by Aryeom in just a few seconds, thanks to the symmetry modes: Symmetrical doodles by Aryeom (Creative Commons by-sa).

photoflow gimp

So I developed symmetry painting last year.

photoflow gimp

So what did we bring to the table? Well there are the stuff which we like most first: painting. Commits number is not always the most perfect metrics but as good as any). Pretty cool feature, uh? GIMP & ZeMarmot projectĪs you can read on, ZeMarmot is a contributor to GIMP through my own contributions (which amounts to about 14% of commits for this specific release. Canvas image by Aryeom Han ( Creative Commons by-sa). The image on canvas is by Aryeom, ZeMarmot‘s director. I’ll just illustrate with this cool picture of the live preview of operations (here a gaussian blur) directly on canvas, split for comparison, implemented by Mitch, our own benevolent dictator (or are we all his dictators?). So reading there is also partly same as reading here. Anyway I co-wrote the news with the rest of the team and provided several screenshots. I am not going to rewrite all of the official news, because you may as well read it on. In other word, anything here is not written as anything official from the GIMP project itself, but from me only, a single contributor to GIMP. It may not be shared by other developers who have their own priorities and this post has not be written with the other devs. I didn’t expect this! Therefore I just want to make clear that whatever I wrote below is my view of GIMP future. Small edit: I realized that my blog post has been linked on many major news website. So you may have heard the news: we recently released a new development version of GIMP, version 2.9.4 (as well as a bugfix release 2.8.18, but this is not as awesome).







Photoflow gimp